top of page

The Trials

By Abby Traxler, Tony Aguayo & Justine Mamaradlo

Here at Del Lago Academy, the Trials are one of the biggest, and most hyped projects for our scholars. Within three months, the freshmen present a mock trial based off of real evidence found on real murder cases. After gathering their data defense and prosecution stand before Judge Hanzlik or Morisson and a volunteer jury to prove (or fail to prove) the defendant guilty. There were three scenarios scholars could be assigned: Patsy Ramsey for the murder of JonBenet Ramsey, Steven Avery for the murder of Teresa Halbach, or OJ Simpson for the murder of Nicole Brown Simpson and Ronald Goldman. In total there was eighteen trials, six per case. In the table below is the number of verdicts for each side by their case (based on the trials that were observed).



Some of the freshmen were able to talk about how they felt before and after the trials. “I was kind of nervous, kind of excited,” says Justin Lynch, who was on the defense team for OJ Simpson’s trial in Ms. Morrison’s class. “I didn’t really care at first that we won. I was pretty happy afterwards, though. It was a great experience.” Hannah Roach, who was on the same team as Justin, states, “I was a little stressed [before the trial]. Last night I was finishing up my opening statement and I was having to revise it. But I was doing good though, and my team helped me out.” She goes on to talk about her feelings after the trial was over. “I am actually really relieved. For a few moments there, I thought we weren’t gonna win. But I’m actually happy that we did. I feel better now because all that stress is gone.” Overall the freshmen did a great job, with both sides often provided a compelling argument. For the jury there were times that they were borderline which side won and winning side was by one or two people. Other times an argument was so compelling that there was an unanimous vote. Whatever scenario for voting there could always be compliments and advice given to both sides. To all readers you know or shall learn it may be scary then, but as you gain confidence it’ll eventually get better and become maybe even fun. Attached below is some evidence provided from each of the trials: 


Follow The Firebird Press!
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon

Subscribe for News Updates!

@THEFIREBIRDPRESS
bottom of page